9/29/19 Western Prairie Fringed Orchid

Hi I’m a Western Prairie Fringed Orchid but people call me Orchid Prairie because one, I am an Orchid and two, I like to plant myself in “prairie potholes” which are indents left by glaciers from the ice age about 20,000 years ago. Of my kind there are only about 1,000 of us left. We are mainly threatened by global warming, development, and overgrazing. Yesterday I saw a big tractor and saw that it took out at least two other orchids, it came super close to me but it just grazed the ends of my petals. The sad thing is, that I had just released my sweet fragrance for the hawkmoths to gather my pollen. My sweet fragrance was washed away with the smell of diesel and  there were no other orchids around that I could see. With that being said I wasn’t sure how to reproduce. #habitatloss #notsurewhattodo         

Image result for western prairie fringed orchid

 

2 thoughts on “9/29/19 Western Prairie Fringed Orchid

  1. Awesome post Dylann and so sad. We are loosing so many organisms like this one and have no idea the extent. We are in the middle of the 6th greatest extinction! I am glad you included the symbiotic relationship with the Hawkmoth. Remember to ask 3 questions.

  2. Hi Dylann I liked your post because you had lots of information. also I thought that it was so sad how it was lonely and couldn’t reproduce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*